I noticed this while looking at other people’s ideas and thought it was an interesting (and better written) set of arguments for and against circumcision.

JeffreySterlingMD.com

screamingbaby

As a medical professional, circumcision has long been one of those things that’s made me go hmmm…. If your religious beliefs include this as a ritual or ceremony, fine.  I get it, and I have no criticism at all.  No disrespect is intended.  Otherwise, circumcision is largely a procedure looking for an indication.  Quick, tell me what other elective surgical procedure or harmful activity of any type is allowed on children, much less newborns?  While I’m waiting for you to think about an answer that doesn’t exist, let’s recap the procedure and the medical logic behind it.

As you know (and men are painfully aware – pun intended), circumcision is the surgical removal of the skin over the glans (tip) of the penis.  Over the last 30 years, the rate of males receiving the procedure has dropped from 64.5% to 58.3%, according to the National Center for Health Statistics.  Worldwide…

View original post 490 more words

