Tags

, , , , , ,

I love reading. I used to read a lot of fiction, but for the past few years I find myself into books that have a little more reality in them. Anyway, the point is that I love books and many of them have a strong impact on me. So strong that I have to tell people about them. This tends to get a little boring for the people close to me who can only hear about how great something is and why so many times. So I decided to create a “book club” type blog post. Slightly ironic because I’ve never been to a book club, and am not sure I’d want to (i don’t enjoy being told what to read). Whenever I feel like it (I’m not giving a schedule, since I’ll never stick to it) I will post a little bit about a book that I’ve really enjoyed or that has had a strong impact on me. I might not really explain why, I’m not very good at book reports, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t a great book!

Book: Carly’s Voice

Author(s): Carly Fleischmann and her father work together to describe the her life from both view points.

About the book (taken from the website): “At the age of two, Carly Fleischmann was diagnosed with severe autism and an oral motor condition that prevented her from speaking. Doctors predicted that she would never intellectually develop beyond the abilities of a small child. Although she made some progress after years of intensive behavioral and communication therapy, Carly remained largely unreachable. Then, at the age of ten, she had a breakthrough.

While working with her devoted therapists Howie and Barb, Carly reached over to their laptop and typed in “HELP TEETH HURT,” much to everyone’s astonishment. This was the beginning of Carly’s journey toward self-realization.” http://carlysvoice.com/

Why I like it: This book opens a whole new door into Autism and the way different people are wired. It proves that just because a person can’t speak and looks abnormal doesn’t mean they are not intelligent and fully aware of their surroundings. Autism is something I find very interesting and this book offered firsthand, moving explanations of behaviors and activities that are commonly associated with severe autism. It is an important read for anyone who wants to learn about autism or just about other people and the differences in the world and what we experience.

Extras: Carly, who was once thought to have the intellectual capacities of a small child, and who still unable to talk with her mouth has just graduated a “normal” high school and is going to college in the fall. She has public facebook (https://www.facebook.com/carlysvoice?ref=br_tf) and twitter (https://twitter.com/CarlysVoice) accounts where she posts personal anecdotes as well as interesting news in the world of autism. She is well worth “following” as she will be making a big impact in the world.

