Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I aim to write something every day. Today I am tired, probably because I aimed to spend all of today fully unpacking the boxes that are still packed from the move 3 months ago, and reorganizing our entire apartment. This aim was made a little more difficult by my staying in bed until it was almost afternoon, and by my boyfriend’s desire to watch an entire season of a show he’s become obsessed with. Suffice it to say, I do not feel mentally energetic enough to write a full-out discussion on one of the many topics that interest or irk me.

So, I’m going to ask a question about something that bothers me a lot.

Do we have a right to talk about things that we can’t experience?

Stephen Fry (if you don’t know who he is you should, so look him up) posted this blog after he was verbally attacked for certain comments he made regarding a certain, very specific group of Muslims.

http://stephen-fry-me.tumblr.com/post/59775876379/am-i-an-islamophobe

It reminded me of the fact that we can’t seem to talk about things we don’t experience without being called prejudice. Men can’t seem to talk about women’s rights without being called sexist, white people can seem to talk about racism without being called racist, and nowadays non-Islamic people can’t say anything that isn’t high praise about Islam without being called an Islamaphobe.

Is this fair? Obviously a person who is not a woman can’t say what it’s like to be a woman BUT why is it okay to take a man’s view on woman’s rights when he’s supporting them, but not if he is presenting a potentially reasonable argument as to why something a woman has said is wrong? And this isn’t specific to women, it’s the case with pretty much any separate group. Is this the way things should be? Should we not be allowed to talk about others as we can’t truly experience what it’s like for them?

Please tell me your thoughts as I’m too tired to articulate mine properly tonight.

