Tags

, , , , ,

Trigger warning for this post: rape and sexual abuse.

The Blurred Lines controversy is still going strong. I have already given my opinion on it, and everyone has differing opinions, and I respect that. Some people find it upsetting and even triggering and I am not in a position to tell them that they shouldn’t feel that way. People react to things differently.

One thing that I am not comfortable with is the current line of thinking I have been reading that we can “prove” it promotes rape because the words used are lines of actual rapists. The pictures used here are part of Project Unbreakable, which is a fantastic project promoting the survivors of sexual assault and telling their stories. This is a very important and worthwhile project; and please note I’m not in any way trying to put it down with this discussion.

So some of the lines in the song are the same as lines that “actual rapists” used. Okay, that’s true, and I can understand why that could make the song triggering for survivors of sexual abuse, however, I don’t see how we can say that that proves the song itself is promoting rape.

Sadly, the world has many, many rapists who have use many different words and phrases before an attack. Any number of phrases can be said to be commonly used, including the ones in this song. If the words being those that a rapist has used makes a song promote rape then why aren’t we writing about all the other songs? What about lines like “tell me you love me”, “don’t tell”, or even “you’re sexy”. These are all phrases that are used frequently in song lyrics, and we’re not banning those songs because they promote rape culture.

Whether or not you believe this song to be anti-women or promoting rape is it’s own thing and many people have been successfully arguing both sides. However, I really don’t think we can use the fact that some of the lyrics have been used by rapists to prove that the song is promoting rape.

And if you disagree with my opinion on this I ask one thing. Be consistent. Argue against all the other songs that promote rape in some way, not just this one.

