Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So this will be a topic I plan on delving into more deeply, but it’s been a long day of preparing for a presentation so I don’t have the brain power to analyze too deeply.

Anyway, the question is this: what definitions of words do we use in our “big” discussions?

I will give an example to show what I mean.

Sexism is defined as the “prejudice, stereotyping, or discrimination, typically against women, on the basis of sex” (dictionary definition).

It doesn’t specify discrimination of women only, or of the minority group, just the discrimination based on sex. However many arguments, such as ones against a post I made on reverse racism and sexism say that we can’t be sexist against men because they’re not the oppressed group. Definition-wise this is false. But as a society we seem to be creating a new meaning for words like racism and sexism where we specifically add the qualifier “can’t happen against the majority group”.

I feel like this is why a lot of arguments happen on these topics. People are using different definitions for the same words and it is causing more trouble than just the specific issue alone.

I don’t really have a point here. It’s just an observation. Maybe before we discuss buzzwords like “sexism”, and “racism” we should define what definition we are using. It might prevent more argument!

